Skip to content
July 14, 2011 / amanda stratton

Update: research ongoing


I’ve been much more neglectful of this blog than I wanted to be when I started it. I regret that mostly because if I’m neglecting it, then I’m also neglecting learning things about stuff, which is why I started this blog.

I’ve been a little overwhelmed with other life things–even stupid girls have responsibilities sometimes–and I’ve been stealing moments to read legislature transcripts (that’s what the Hansard is for all those* still hanging on that cliff) and party websites and statistics and research.  But I haven’t had the opportunity to sit down, sift through my myriad bookmarks, and synthesize it all into something meaningful.

I’m also just finding it really hard to find reliable sources of information about provincial stuff.  I’m trying to actually look into some of the things that the parties are presenting as the issues and get to facts behind them, and sometimes, I just plain can’t find facts.  I’m on the brink of doing something crazy like calling the local candidates and finding out how much they know.

I don’t want to seem mean-spirited, but it has occurred to me that I’d like to ask them some questions about the facts and logic behind their parties’ platforms.  But then I can’t find the facts, so that plan falls apart because they’ll just feed me whatever they’ve been told to feed me.  I wish you could rely on debates to get to the real gritty stuff, but could they possibly make those questions any more generic and spinnable? I don’t think they could.

Well, that’s the update: I’m busy, still a bit confused, and mildly frustrated by provincial politics.  Aren’t you glad you read this whole thing?

*I like how I said “all those” – three people subscribe to this blog and I’m one of them.
So, hi Tim and Jay!

Sources For This Article
NONE, NOT EVEN WIKIPEDIA

Leave a Reply

